Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Not necessarily. You have the opportunity to register to vote when you visit the driver's license office, but you will only be registered if you fill out and sign a registration card before the date the books close.
We do not issue voter registration ID cards. You will receive a confirmation post card in the mail shortly after you register or change your address. This card will confirm your new precinct information and list your voting location.
You will need to show identification before voting. Kentucky law requires one of the following forms of identification:
Students have the choice to stay registered in their home county or to register in the county where they are attending school.
You do not need to re-register unless you move out of the county and then return. Keeping your address updated with our office and voting regularly will keep your registration active.
You will have to fill out and sign a new voter registration card. You may do this by mail, on-line, or in person at either the county clerk's office or the driver's license office.
Seventeen year olds may register and vote in primary elections as long as they will be eighteen by the date of the next general election.
Convicted felons must have their voting rights restored before they can register to vote. You may contact your local parole office or go to www.corrections.ky.gov to obtain an application for Restoration of Civil Rights.
Moves within the county: Update your address with the county clerk in person, online, or in writing, or change your address at the driver's license office. If you have not done this before Election Day you may still cast your ballot. You must go to the voting precinct that serves your new address on Election Day to vote and update your registration address at that time.
Moves outside of the county: Registration books close 28 days before each election. If you move to another Kentucky county you must register in your new county before the books close in order to be eligible to vote. If you move during the 28 day period that the books are closed, you may return to your previous county to vote in that one election only. You will need to change your registration to your new county as soon as the registration books reopen.
6:00 am to 6:00 pm
You must be in line by 6:00 pm in order to vote. All voters must vote in the precinct that serves their current residential address.
No. Your voter registration information only proves the date you registered to vote in the county.